Institutional bodies

The research activities of IfM Bonn are accompanied by the board of trustees (Kuratorium) and the scientific advisory board (wiss. Beirat).

  • Board of trustees

    Board of trustees

    The board of trustees appoints the president of IfM Bonn and defines the research programme in consultation with her/him. Moreover, the board is also in charge of supervising the administration of the assets of the foundation as well as of examining and approving the budget in accordance with the federal budget regulations.

    The board members are delegated by the following ministries:

    Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy

    Deputy Chairman
    Ministry of Economic Affairs, Energy and Industry of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

    Further Members
    Federal Ministry of Finance

    Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

    Ministry of Climate Protection, Environment, Agriculture, Nature and Consumer Protection of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

    Chairman of the scientific advisory board
    Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Kabst, Universität Paderborn

  • Scientific advisory board

    Scientific advisory board

    The scientific advisory board has the task to support the institute in developing its short- and medium-term research priorities and to accompany their implementation. Furthermore, it also fosters close network contacts and co-operation with all relevant SME-related players in the research community, the SME economy, their business associations as well as in government and administration.

    The scientific advisory board is composed of the following seven members, who are appointed for four years by the board of trustees.

    ChairmanProf. Dr. Sabine Rau, PETER MAY Family Business Consulting GmbH & Co. KG

    Deputy Chairman

    Prof. Dr. Michael Fritsch, Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

    Further Members

    Prof. Dr. Constanze Chwallek, Fachhochschule Aachen

    Prof. Dr. Urs Fueglistaller, KMU-HSG, Universität St. Gallen

    Prof. Dr. Michael Gielnik, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg

    Holger Lösch, Stellvertretender Hauptgeschäftsführer Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e.V.

    Dr. Matthias Mainz, Geschäftsführer  IHK NRW - Die Industrie- und Handelskammern in Nordrhein-Westfalen e.V.

    Holger Schwannecke, Generalsekretär, Zentralverband des Deutschen Handwerks (ZDH)